Monday, March 02, 2009

18th February 2009, Wednesday – Brunei IIB Primary Schools Football Championship 2009 was held from 12th February 2009 until 18th February 2009. The championship was held by Co-Curriculum Education Department, Ministry of Education and hosted by Sekolah Rendah Tentera Laut Diraja Brunei (SRTLDB). All the matches were held Padang Sekolah Rendah Sultan Umar Ali Saifuddien (SUAS) Muara.

13 schools in Brunei IIB participated in the championship. Actually, there were 14 schools joined, at first. But, Sekolah Rendah Dato Ghandi is closed down due to the landslide disaster. Its pupils and teachers were transferred to other schools.

SRTLDB managed to get 3rd place. SRTLDB defeated SR HMS Sungai Hanching (4-0) in the preliminary round, but was defeated by SR Batu Marang (3-4) in the semi-final.

The final game was held on 18th February 2009 at Padang Sekolah Rendah SUAS Muara. The Guest of Honour was Cikgu Mohd Hasrin bin Abdullah, District Supervisor for Brunei II and IV, representing Cikgu Haji Moksin bin Haji Mohammad, Senior Education Officer for Brunei IIB.

In the final match, SR SUAS Muara managed to defeat SR Batu Marang by 5-1.

Some photos taken:

(Photos: Abdul Rashid bin Haji Tahir. Taken on 18th February 2009)